I Got Nothin’ Today

Hey world.

This week wasn’t too eventful, really. Nothing to report on. We had meetings. We got transfer calls. That’s it, really. Taught some people. Did some stuff. You know how it goes.

Due to the changes in the missionary schedule and key indicators, we had long meetings this week. One of those was MLC, and we had to discuss how to integrate the changes smoothly and get it all going. That all took a long while to work out. After that, we discussed working towards our mission’s baptismal goal of 400 for the year of 2017. We spent a good long time discussing plans to help us work towards this goal and lift the vision of missionaries here. That’s pretty much the gist of all that happened with our meetings this week.

img_0098
The Antioch Zone, last night at the end-of-transfer testimony meeting.

We dropped some of our investigators this week. We aren’t teaching anyone solid, currently, but we’ve set some goals for this coming transfer (we’re both staying here) to help us find some solid people to teach. Members are helping us out, too. They’re inviting friends to activities and to church, and it’ll only be a matter of time till we start teaching some solid people. We look forward to it.

On Friday night, we went to teach a less-active member named Piero. He’s super cool and one of the most entertaining people I’ve ever met. This Friday, he was in a really, really good mood and his positivity rubbed off on us and got us motivated to do a lot in the coming weeks. We absorbed his positive energy and used it to set goals and make plans to get us going next transfer.

Besides this, there’s nothing notable to tell.

img_0099
We went with some missionaries to Hazel’s again today. I did not get the Willy Burger again because I’m not insane. But Elder Castillo got it.

One thing that has been on my mind, lately, is the importance of our testimony of Christ. Before anything else, we need to learn to love the Savior “because He first loved us.” (1 John 4:19) I have really enjoyed coming to know the Savior as I’ve served out here. I love Him and am grateful for what He has done for me. My favorite verse of scripture are Romans 8:35,37 and Isaiah 53:3-5. To me, they are words of healing. Knowing that we can find peace because of Christ gives me great strength. I’m grateful for Him and I know that He lives.

I hope you all have a great week. Love you all!
~Elder Pike

Leave a Reply

