The Three (Not-So-Wise) Men

Merry Christmas!

I hope you all had a great Christmas! This was an eventful, but sloppy week for us here in Fremont. It was great to celebrate Christmas. Just the three of us missionaries.

That’s right, I said three.

This week, we ended up in a trio. Elder Chapman, one of the zone leaders got put in our companionship for the week since his companion, Elder Westover, had to go home for an injury. It made for an interesting week. We covered three wards, had zone leader duties to attend to, and had to reorganize our plans all through the time we were companions. Made for a messy week.

img_9838
The Three (Not-So) Wise Men of Fremont. We had a messy week, but did our best. It will be a fun week, long-remembered.

We only were able to teach one (1) investigator lesson this week. Everyone was out of town for the holidays, so we were kind of at a loss of what to do. We kinda just drove around trying to contact potentials, less-actives, and other people all week, to no avail. We were busy with nothing to do. It was a little rough, but happens when people go out of town.

We had a good Christmas here. We woke up Sunday morning and opened packages from family, which was good. My sister has excellent taste in ties, so that’s cool. After that, we went to church (both wards had special musical programs) and then we had dinner that evening with the Geronimo’s, a Filipino family in the Brookvale ward.

img_9832
This was our Christmas dinner. It’s called “Lechon”, which simply means “Roast Pig”. Lechon is a traditional Filipino dish eaten on holidays and at celebrations. This is not the first time I have had it out here. It’s super delicious!

One thing I really appreciate about the meaning of Christmas is stated concisely in 3 Nephi 1:13 where the Lord speaks to Nephi, saying “Lift up your head and be of good cheer…on the morrow come I into the world.” Christmas is simply about the glorious gift of our Savior. How He was born for us, so that we, through Him, can overcome all things. Christ is truly the greatest gift. He is the gift of God’s love for us. He is the gift of light to the world:

“Hearken and listen to the voice of him who is from all eternity to all eternity, the Great I AM, even Jesus Christ — The light and life of the world; a light which shineth in darkness and the darkness comprehendeth it not.” ~D&C 39:1-2

I hope you all had a Merry Christmas. It truly is the most wonderful time of the year. The time when we honor the birth of our Savior and all that He did and all that He stands for. I know He is truly our Savior and I’m grateful for His life and sacrifice for us.

In other news, we got transfer calls on Saturday night. I’m going to miss serving here in the Hayward Zone, specifically in Fremont. Fremont has been a great place to serve.

img_9820
My district here in Fremont! From left to right: Sister Gonzalez, Sister Madsen, Elder Stone, Elder Ballard, myself, and Elder Scholes.

Surprisingly, I am already being transferred. I’ve only been here in Highland YSA and Brookvale for three months, but I am being moved to Antioch YSA tomorrow. Antioch is the far end of the mission, and the only part of the mission I haven’t really seen yet. It’ll be neat to finally head out there and see it. My new companion will be Elder Khamvongsouk, Elder Scholes’ original trainer, and I will be a zone leader out in the Antioch Zone.

I’m excited for this great opportunity ahead of me and look forward to serving in this mission as a zone leader! It will be great. Next week, I will report on my adjustment. Hope it goes well.

Love you all! Hope you have a great holiday season. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!
~Elder Pike

In the short time I served here in Fremont, I made a lot of good friends. These are some of them.

img_9828
Brother Ellis, our ward mission leader in Brookvale. He’s the best WML I’ve had my whole mission.

img_9830
Samantha and Heather, members of the YSA ward. Heather (right) got baptized a month and half before I arrived and she’s now preparing to go on a mission next year.

img_9834
Brother Geronimo, a member of the Brookvale ward bishopric. He had us over for dinner on Christmas.

Leave a Reply

