Abundantly Blessed

Hi world.

I’m too exhausted to email right now. This may be shorter than you like, but a lot of things did happen this week. We went to the temple, we went on exchanges, and we added a new investigator through a miracle.

Jon and Savannah are doing really well, still. They are getting ready to be baptized in two weeks and are adamant about that date, as are we. Some opposition has come up, as does with all investigators when they get close to baptism, but they are refusing to let that deter them.

Our lesson with Jackie last Monday was great! We talked about how we receive personal revelation (we used David A. Bednar’s “Patterns of Light” videos on lds.org

. Check them out, they’re great!) and she loved it. She learned a lot and we are still seeing progress with her every week. If she keeps up, then she’ll get her answer in no time. It’s so great to see people progress so quickly!

When we went to temple on Tuesday, I was able to catch up with some old friends I hadn’t seen in awhile before and after the session, outside the temple. I’ve always found it interesting how close I’ve become with some of these missionaries. I never expected to develop such friendships, especially with people so different from myself…

img_9787
Elder Chapman (my MTC companion) and I at the temple! We were staring into the sun when this picture was taken.

When we went on exchanges, I had the opportunity to work with Elder Martinez. It was interesting. Elder Martinez is home now, as I’m writing this. He was diagnosed with OCD on his mission by multiple professionals and it was too much for him to handle. I was with him when he got the call from President Frandsen that he was going home. It was really good to chat one on one with him about his struggles of the past few months. He’s been really humbled and in for a long few months after returning home. I was able to offer him my advice and some materials to help him out considering my own struggles with anxiety. He’s a good guy. Hopefully, I’ll be able to hear from him later in life.

While on exchanges, a recent convert from Elder Martinez’s branch, by the name Ignacio, called us asking us if we wanted corn. They’re in the Spanish branch, so it was that Mexican corn with mayo, chili powder, and cheese. That corn was the best corn I’ve ever had in my entire life. Jeez.

img_9800
At the mission home, some missionaries dropped off this mysterious briefcase for me. I had no clue what it was about when we were up in Oakland on Tuesday.

img_9799
It was full of vintage records. No clue where it came from or why it’s here. Now, I have to figure out how to get it home.

I had some reason for saying we were abundantly blessed this week, but I forgot what it was. Just know that we are. We have five progressing investigators, more than I’ve had my whole mission at one time, and our teaching pool continues to grow each week. Good things are happening! President Frandsen even told us that our area is “on fire”. He hasn’t seen this much happen here since he arrived in the mission 18 months ago. Things are really good!

Anyway, that’s all I got for now. This week was good. Love you all! Have a great week!
~Elder Pike

Leave a Reply

