The Most Exhausted I’ve Ever Been

Hi world.

This was a stressful week. I’m drained. I’m so exhausted that I don’t really have the energy to write today. Despite that, this week ended really well! It was a good week.

img_9690
Our area covers pretty much everything in this photo. That’s why I’m exhausted.

The reason why this week was so exhausting is because we were throwing together all the last details for Pamela’s baptism. Everything, and I do mean everything, came together at the last second! The Lord truly needed me to exercise faith and learn more about patience this week. So much patience was necessary in everything we did.

On Tuesday, we had our final lesson with Pamela, along with the baptismal interview. It was scheduled for 7 PM. We did not hear from Pamela until 7:40 PM. She fell asleep after work (she just got back from a long trip) and slept past our appointment time. It still happened! It just got pushed back an hour. You better believe I was stressing about that.

On Saturday, we had the baptism! It was great! Though, Pamela didn’t show up till two minutes before the service was supposed to start (car problems). The same thing happened with her confirmation on Sunday. Patience is important. I didn’t really have it this week and I kinda had a stick up my butt about everything because I was so unbelievably stressed out. Our ward mission leader was in the same boat about it, too! Except his wife is also pregnant and due any day now, so he was just as bad, if not worse off than I was in the stress department.

The whole week felt like a big symbol of the full five transfers I’ve spent in this area. It’s just been a long, painful test of patience and endurance, and everything has come together at the tail end of it. I don’t know if I’ll be here for much longer and chances are that I leave next week (I’ll have information about transfers next Monday), but it hasn’t been easy serving in this ward. It’s been very hard, but it did all work out in the end. I’m grateful that the Lord has blessed us finally. He just needed me to learn about patience along the way.

Pamela’s baptism was really good. She was very excited to be baptized, and I had the opportunity to baptize her! She has been really excited about the whole thing.

img_9683
Pamela’s baptism.

In addition, a man in the Spanish ward got baptized at the same time. We had a combined service in English. After I was changing, I spoke to the man who got baptized into the Spanish ward and he was speechless. The Spirit was so overwhelmingly powerful that he didn’t know what to say. He said, “there’s no words to describe it!” It was really cool to see.

img_9685
The whole San Mateo Zone came to support us at the baptism, and the mission president and his wife. It’s been over a year since a baptism has happened in this ward. The only two missing here are Elder Baniago and Elder Perandos (they came, but had to leave before the picture was taken).

Another highlight I had from this week was the opportunity to go on exchanges with Elder Apostolos, one of our zone leaders. Elder Apostolos is an unlikely friend that I have made out here. If not for being on a mission, I probably never would have associated with him, but he’s been an incredible influence on me and probably one of the closest friends I have made out here. He leaves the mission to go home in a week. I’ll miss having him around.

I forgot about this. We had zone conference this week and all but two of my companions were there, so I took a picture with the bunch of ’em:

img_9670
My homies.

I’m gonna run off now and do something that doesn’t require me to think. I’m exhausted. Love you all! Have a great week!
~Elder Pike

Leave a Reply

