The Fruits of Our Labors

Hi everyone!

We had a pretty good week here in San Bruno. A lot happened and some miracles were witnessed. We also did a lot of service for seniors this week. We helped out at the senior center again and planted flowers for a 95 year-old man in the ward. That kept us busy during daytime hours on Wednesday and Thursday.

Aside from that, we firmly set Pamela’s baptismal date and scheduled her baptismal interview. She is going to be baptized in two weeks! After six months of teaching her, she finally feels ready to be baptized, and we have seen her faith progress to that point. We’re excited for it to all come together, especially since it’s been over a year since anyone has been baptized in this ward.

Our investigators Waris is continuing to progress here, too. He just wants to know whether the Book of Mormon is true. He has a testimony of Jesus Christ as His Savior and the Bible, but he wants to learn about the Book of Mormon. He just got baptized in another church, but he understands what we’ve told him about Priesthood authority. He just wants to know: “Is it true?”, which really is the bottom-line question anyway. He says if he comes to know the Book of Mormon is true, he will be baptized.

Things have been really good here lately, which has been great. We’re finally seeing the fruits of our labors, after many, many months of struggling to get anything done. It’s relieving to take part in. We also added a young mother as an investigator this week!

I guess I don’t have too much to say. Things were good this week. We remained busy. Elder Castillo and I are getting along very well.

Oh! We did have exchanges with the Filipinos again this week. That was cool. We went and worked in a kinda run-down, sketchy part of the city called Sunnydale (but I’m safe, don’t worry!). We also had a member join us in proselyting that evening, which was fun.

img_9654
This is Jonathan, the recent convert who joined us. He’s super cool!

On the same day, Elder Apostolos and I worked together for a zone finding activity. Our whole zone got together and switched companions and split to go tracting for a few hours, and I went with him. Elder Apostolos has become one of my closest friends on the mission and has been extremely influential on me over the year that I have known him. He has been my zone leader for six of the nine transfers of my mission so far. I’ve learned a lot from that guy about managing stress and anxiety, something I needed a lot of help with in my life.

img_9655
Elder Forsyth and I making fun of everyone huddling to look at a selfie they took. He’s also been incredibly influential and a good friend to me out here.

Anyway, I hope you all have a great week this week. Things have been good and continue to look up every day. I love you all!

~Elder Pike

Leave a Reply

