President Frandsen is Still Full of Surprises

Hello everyone!

A few weeks ago, I sent out an email entitled “President Frandsen is Full of Surprises”. In that email I talked about how President Frandsen called me as a follow-up trainer for Elder Olone and called Elder Barnett as a trainer, as well.

Well, I’m here to report that President Frandsen called us again this week. Whenever President Frandsen calls, something crazy always happens. This time, he called us and called me as a trainer, AGAIN. Also, it’s the middle of the transfer. It’s confusing. The missionary I will be training is coming mid-transfer because he has been waiting on his Visa. He finally got it and he is coming straight from the Philippines. I will be training him and we are going to pick him up tomorrow.

In the meantime, Elder Olone will be shipped off to the Clayton Valley 3rd Ward, where I started, and will be companions with Elder Forsyth. Super cool! I’ve been telling him all about that ward.

IMG_9481
Elder Olone peacing out to the East Bay.

President Frandsen never fails to catch me off guard. Tomorrow we are going to pick up the new missionary, but tomorrow is also the Walnut Creek Zone’s temple day, so President asked us to join them so Elder Olone doesn’t miss his opportunity when he joins that zone. Additionally, the San Francisco Zone’s temple day is next week and we will go with the new missionary. I won some contest in heaven and scored two temple days this quarter, apparently. After Elder Olone joins Elder Forsyth, I just have to hang out at the mission home for a few hours.

Anyway. That’s the big news from this week.

Other notable things that happened this week was exchanges and I got to call my family on Mother’s Day. Both of those were great!

On exchanges, I went with Elder Sorensen, Elder Mason’s trainee. That is a super funny missionary, if ever there was one. He reminds me of Elder Thorpe from my MTC District. We had a lot of fun and worked very hard. It was an excellent day.

IMG_9489
Elder Sorensen, the little party animal I spent a day with this week.

The work this week was a lot better than the past few weeks. We picked up a lot of promising member referrals and we added another new investigator. We were also finally able to meet with Eric again!

Our new investigator’s name is Chad. He is an interesting guy and was a former investigator. We dropped by and asked him if he would be interested in having missionaries come by again, to which he responded positively. We reviewed the Restoration with him and will be meeting with him again in a few days.

I don’t know if I mentioned Eric before, but Eric was a new investigator we added a few weeks ago. We believe he was once part of a gang, but now he has put that life behind him. He only wants to serve his fellow man and wants to be a good person. We taught him the Plan of Salvation this week to him and helped him understand the purpose of life. It rang with him well and we hope to see him progress in coming weeks.

Sorry I’m so long-winded about so little this week. I gotta run now. Hope you all have a great week! I love you all!

~Elder Pike

Leave a Reply

