A Tale of Seven Cities

It was the best of times. It was the worst of times. It was…

Hello everyone!

It was a great week! And, as much as I miss the city, it’s good to be back in the suburbs where people give us the time of day again and the members don’t work from 6 AM to 10 PM. Let me tell you a bit about the area:

Here in the Crystal Springs 1st Ward, we are covering seven cities. Our area is very big! It takes us about thirty minutes to drive from top to bottom. It’s the second largest (geographically) English family ward in the mission. The area is VERY beautiful and green, and we are right along the bay. San Francisco International airport is also in our area, so we see a lot of low flying airplanes. Weirdly, there are also TONS of taco trucks in the area. Yes, we sometimes get food from them.

Also, there’s this weird guy that wears a purple suit and REALLY gets into his music while he holds a sign on a street corner. He looks like Lionel Richie and cracks me up.

The area is super cool. It’s a lot of fun to serve here and it’s great to be driving again!

Currently, we are teaching three people, all of which have been investigating for a long time. One of them for four years, even. His name is Eddie.

IMG_9437
This is Elder Olone, my super-cool Ethiopian companion.

I think I’ll also, say a bit about my new companion, Elder Olone. I am follow-up training him, so he has been out for one transfer. He’s an Ethiopian refugee who grew up in Kenya! He was able to leave the refugee camp about four years ago and went to high school in Minnesota. He’s super funny and one of the most humble people I have ever met. He’s a very Christlike individual and I look forward to working with him the next few weeks!

IMG_9434
Companionship photo. Don’t worry, the car was parked.

I don’t really have too much to report on this week. Sorry, it’s not nearly as exciting as the city. However, it’s much easier to manage! This week has been pretty average, apart from conference.

Speaking of which, conference was just great! It was good to sit and listen to the words of the leaders of church and rest from our labors for a bit. I, in particular, enjoyed the several talks that were given about recognizing our true identity as children of God. When we remember that fact, we can receive such great strength! It allows us to remember that no matter what we do, God still loves all of us and will be there to help us so long as we turn to him! It’s a great strength to me to remember that and I hope you all can receive strength from it, as well. Elder Holland’s talk may have been my favorite (surprise!) because of his focus on being optimistic and recognizing that we are here to learn and grow. We can find strength as we turn to Christ to overcome our hardships and shortcomings.

There were many good and empowering messages shared this weekend. I invite you all to review them or watch them online on the church’s website at www.lds.org/general-conference

Also, I can’t get over the fact that Elder Uchtdorf made a reference to Star Wars in the Priesthood Session.

Anyway, sorry I don’t have too much to report this week. It was a pretty slow week for the most part. Just know that I love you all and am grateful for your support and kindness!

Have a great week!
~Elder Pike

Leave a Reply

