President Frandsen is Full of Surprises

Hello dearest friends and family!

This week was full of surprises. Let’s start with Tuesday: Elder Barnett was called as a trainer (meaning I will be transferred)! My time in San Francisco was short-lived, but it was a wild adventure. With one call from President I was transferred in and with one call I was transferred out. This transfer in the Golden Gate Ward has been the craziest adventure of my life. It’s a memory that will be with me forever.

IMG_9423
Saying goodbye to Golden Gate.

Goodness, gracious. So, I spent most of this week knowing I will be leaving behind the city this next transfer. Wow, time is flying.

One goal I have on my mission is to leave each area better than I found it. I was able to do that in Clayton Valley, and I feel like Elder Barnett and I were able to do that here, as well. Since I got here, we were able to find five new investigators and strengthen relations between members and the missionaries. It’s been discouraging at times, fun, and exhausting all at once. I can now leave Golden Gate in peace.

IMG_9418
This is Reza. He’s an investigator we were teaching here in the city. I’m gonna miss teaching this guy.

Of course, with all this being said, it’s also important to recognize that we cannot do anything without God. Missionary work is difficult. In San Francisco, it’s insanely difficult. But with the Lord, it becomes doable and enjoyable.

The Lord’s hand is in this work. I don’t doubt that. As a missionary, my testimony has transformed. My personality has too. But I can stand before all of you today and testify with COMPLETE conviction that I know that this is the Lord’s work, that He truly loves all of His children, and that He wants us to be happy in this life and the next. Never forget that.

I don’t have too much time to write today, so I’m gonna wrap up real quick. We had a district activity and went down to the Golden Gate Bridge and Pier 39 today, so that’s where my time went. We thought we would have one last hurrah before the district gets separated, as most of us are being transferred.

IMG_9433
Elder Oborn, Elder Olone, Elder Barnett, and I at Chowder’s on Pier 39.

In other surprising news, President Frandsen called me to be a follow-up trainer (meaning I’m finishing training another missionary) this next transfer. He also is closing down the other English area in San Francisco, meaning only one English companionship covers San Francisco now, and it’s Elder Barnett and his trainee. That’s a very big area to cover: pretty much all of the city minus the Sunset district out west. Now Elder Barnett gets to cover all the shady areas of the city, too. That’ll be fun.

And where am I being transferred? Well, I’m hardly being transferred. I’m just moving down to the Crystal Springs 1st Ward, in the suburbs of San Francisco. I’ll be so close to the city that I will still be in the same district with Elder Barnett. My new area covers seven cities: South San Francisco, Brisbane, San Bruno, Millbrae, Hillsborough, Burlingame, and San Mateo. It’s a BIG area. One of the biggest in the mission. I’ll be driving. Also, my trainee will be Elder Olone (from Ethiopia) who I went on exchanges with a week ago.

It’ll be fun.

Hope you all have a great week! Love you all!
~Elder Pike

IMG_9413
District activity in Chinatown last week. Elder Mason, Elder Barnett, and Elder Oborn.

IMG_9415
District photo. We held a funeral for Elder Aiono (on the table) because he’s “dying” (meaning he’s going home). Everybody else from left to right: myself, Elder Olone, Elder Barnett, Elder Young, Elder Mason, Elder Oborn, Elder MacDonald.

IMG_9431
Crazy cargo ship coming in to the bay. This thing was FAST.

Leave a Reply

