I Live in the most Organized Apartment in the Bay Area

Hello all.

I had a most uneventful week this week. Woo. Elder Forsyth was sick and we were down most of the week, unable to work while he rested. In the meantime, I organized and cleaned our apartment and went through our area books getting ready to take on a second ward.

I did that for about three days. Needless to say, I didn’t feel much like a missionary this week because Elder Forsyth was sick for so long and I was stuck indoors most days. We ended up speaking with a couple of the other missionaries (Elder Prete and Elder Changchum) at the end of one night and talked about how their week has gone and it hit me: I seriously missed doing missionary work in that time that Elder Forsyth was sick! Like, I REALLY missed it. Missionary work is the most difficult work I have ever done, but it is EASILY the most rewarding and, at times, a lot of fun.

Other than that, I don’t really have much to report this week.

IMG_9339
In addition to not having much to report, I don’t really have pictures either. Here’s Elder Changchum and I at the temple last night. There was a devotional we went to in which recent converts bore testimony of things they have felt joining the church and it was up in Oakland. The temple in Oakland overlooks a gorgeous view of the Sodom and Gomorrah…I MEAN, San Francisco and Oakland… The pictures just don’t quite do it justice.

IMG_9331
We met a man who had an exotic fruit tree that grows massive lemons. He gave us one.

I guess I can also say that it was suuuper warm this week. Mid-70s. In February. What.

Oh! We also had a regional conference broadcast from Salt Lake City on Sunday. We were able to hear from a bunch of the general authorities of the church, including Elder Renlund, one of the new apostles.

Which brings me to the spiritual thought I would like to share. Elder Renlund spoke about the importance of understanding the Restoration and the Plan of Salvation as a foundation of all the doctrines we believe. Understand the Restoration is vital to resolving any concerns and questions we may have about the church and our doctrine. We know that if Joseph Smith was a prophet (something we can learn by reading and praying about the Book of Mormon) then everything else falls into place. It doesn’t matter what questions or concerns you have. It just doesn’t. If Joseph Smith was a prophet, it then follows that this is the one and only true church on the earth today. It then follows that the Book of Mormon is the word of God, as is the Bible. It then follows that the Plan of Salvation really is God’s plan for us and the Gospel of Jesus Christ is the only way by which we can be saved.

The Plan of Salvation itself helps us understand why everything happens the way it does. It allows us to understand that God loves us so much that He sent us here to learn and to grow, to find joy, and prepare to receive all the blessings he has in store for us.

The doctrines of this church are simple. They are perfect and wonderful. They are true. I know that the Book of Mormon is true and that Jesus Christ is the Son of God. I’ve felt the Spirit testify of these things to me and I cannot deny it. No amount of debate or rationalization can change what I’ve felt. This gospel is the one, true way to lasting happiness and peace in this life. Of these things I testify in the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

I hope you all have a great week. Stay warm, wherever you are.

I love you all!
~Elder Pike

Leave a Reply

