The Grass is Always Greener…

No, seriously. It is. Every. Single. Day. We get so much rain here and the hills are starting to look like the English countryside.

Hello everyone!

It’s been one heckuva week. LOTS of teaching, two exchanges, Jasmine’s baptismal interview, and service at the bishop’s storehouse. Really, I don’t know what to talk about or where to go with this email. It’s just been true missionary work all week…and I’m exhausted.

IMG_9304
Exchanges with Elder Broman from Draper, Utah.

IMG_9296
Exchanges with Elder Shingleton from Saratoga Springs, Utah.

Leading the area on two exchanges was really mentally draining this week, but that’s alright. I’ve been leading the area all transfer. However, those two days I was completely in charge with exchange focuses (how the work should be focused the day of the exchange) on finding.

As missionaries, we need to find the perfect balance of finding, converting, reactivating, and retaining, but that’s difficult to do. Very difficult. Often we get caught up in one or another and forget about another. I, for one, forget about the importance of reactivating (which, in my opinion, is the most difficult part of our work).

Anyway, with our exchanges focused on finding, we went out and spoke to as many people as possible on the streets and at doors. As a result, we saw miracles and met plenty of interesting people. Here were some of our findings:

– A really nice, but not-all-there guy who invited us into his home to talk to him. He said, “Here! Let me show you. I have a copy of the Book of Mormon already,” as he proceeded to pull out a thick, blue book. I was fairly certain it wasn’t the Book of Mormon, and I was right. What was it? An “Alcoholics Anonymous” book.

– A really spooky guy whose wife was a referral from a member. He and his family were from somewhere in Asia and I had met him before. His wife is interested in the message, but he wants nothing to do with us. He was lying to us about his identity and intentions (they were different than the first time I met him). Also, he kept closing the door when his wife would try to pipe in. My goodness, he was spooky.

– A young man entering the coast guard. He invited us into his home and we taught him the Restoration and have him a copy of the Book of Mormon! He said to give him a call this week and arrange a time to come back and teach him again. We hope to add him as an investigator in a coming week!

You could say we meet some interesting people on the mission. We really do. I’m super grateful for that, especially the members and investigators we work with. Like, I kid you not, Elder Forsyth and I (and Elder Weaver when he was here) think that our investigator, Dave, is the greatest man on the face of the earth (because he really is). And now he’s coming to church and meeting with the missionaries again! It’s only a matter of time until he gets baptized (which he said he will be).

IMG_9301
Beautiful Concord, California. It’s so green here. The hills on the left there don’t even do it justice of how green they really are.

One thing that has been on my mind this week is… Actually, it’s been on my mind all transfer. In fact, I’ve written about it before. I think it’s something important for all of us to remember in all we do in this crazy world we live in.

“And see that all these things are done in wisdom and order; for it is not requisite that a man should run faster than he has strength. And again, it is expedient that he should be diligent, that thereby he might win the prize; therefore, all things must be done in order.” ~Mosiah 4:27

I think about this verse a lot. As missionaries, we work hard. Very hard. In fact, some missionaries push themselves harder than is necessary and then get discouraged when things don’t go as planned. It’s important, vital even, that we remember the counsel of King Benjamin when he said that “it is not requisite that a man should run faster than he has strength.”

We should do our best and strive for success in our comings and going in this world. I’m a proponent of the mentality that you can do anything you set your mind to because I have seen it work in my life. You really can do anything you set your mind to. Diligence, hard work, and faith (in oneself AND in God) all combine together for our good and our success. It happens! I know it happens. However, as a part of that, it’s important to not push yourself too hard. Don’t set a bar that is too far out of your reach. That’s how we get discouraged. Remember to do all things “in wisdom and order.” This life is a time to progress and grow, but it’s also a time that the Lord has set apart for us to find happiness! Never forget that.

Anyway, that’s all for now. This coming week will be exciting. Jasmine is getting baptized. I’ll give a full report next week.

I love you all! Have a great week!
~Elder Pike

Leave a Reply

