The California OSF Mission; Operating at 20% Down Time

Good afternoon everyone!

Our week here in the Clayton Valley 3rd Ward has been wonderfully wacky! The work has been somewhat slow, but the weirdest things keep happening to us, all of them noteworthy. But before I get into all that, lemme say something about our investigators!

IMG_0279
Elder Forsyth tried to prank me with this tape in the door. I was too quick to observe. Sadly, he, too, is quick to observe and I can’t get him with it either.

Jasmine moved her baptismal date earlier, this week. That was super great! She’s very ready to be baptized and is excited to do so. The great thing about that is that she will know be baptized before the transfer is over, so I will be here for that! We were able to read from the Book of Mormon with her this week since she’s been taught all the lessons, and she is finding joy in reading. Certainly a wonderful thing to see as a missionary!

Rebecca is still as golden as ever! I’ve never seen the Atonement touch someone’s life as suddenly and quickly as it has her’s. She’s struggled with some hard feelings towards those who have wronged her, but immediately has found a desire to follow the Savior and bless those that curse her, all because she has begun learning about the power of the Atonement! It’s INSANE to see the change in attitude and the joy she is feeling because of it.

Dave came to church this week! This is the first time since the beginning of my mission! We got a text from his wife in the middle of the week saying that Dave had expressed he wanted to go back to church. We didn’t even have a chance to invite him first! It was good to see him there. Also, Dave’s baby is the cutest baby on the face of the earth. I sent a picture of me and those two awhile back in an email titled “A Christmas Miracle”, if you need a picture for reference.

We haven’t exactly had a productive week here besides those three investigators (and other smaller victories). However, we didn’t really have much of a choice with things this week because Elder Forsyth had to get a root canal on Thursday and his face was all numb for the rest of the afternoon, so we couldn’t exactly go out and proselyte. Then on Sunday he got another migraine. I really feel for the guy. He’s such a solid missionary, but he’s getting beat up, healthwise, this month and it’s been rough for him! We mostly just have to sit and wait it out, really.

As for the rest of this week, we had to drive around (that’s right, we had a car for a little bit) and drop off packages and stuff for members of our district. In doing so, we ended up seeing Elder Dey, a zone leader, go through an old bag left on their patio by a hobo (he left it months ago). This hobo was prepared for Armageddon, I swear.

Additionally, we got to experience a little bit of Gomorrah…I MEAN Oakland when we had to go drop off the car at the mission home. We were in Oakland for five minutes when, I kid you not, we witnessed some shady deals and a man peeing on his car. Oakland is pretty filthy. ‘Nuff said.

IMG_0284
Oakland adventures with the zone leaders!

With all these weird happenings and slow work this week, I have felt slightly discouraged. I have felt as though I am not serving my best. However, when things in life drag us down and make us feel inadequate, like I have felt, we need to remember the words of King Benjamin when he said:

“And see that all these things are done in wisdom and order; for it is not requisite that a man should run faster than he has strength. And again, it is expedient that he should be diligent, that thereby he might win the prize; therefore, all things must be done in order.”

We can’t push ourselves more than is healthy. It will only stress us out and bring us down even further if we do that! Remember that sometimes we need to take it slow. We may not want to, but we can’t run faster than we have the strength to!Anyway, that’s all I have for this week. This transfer is flying by, and I don’t understand it. It still feels like I just entered the MTC.

I hope you all have a great week!
I love you all tons!

~Elder Pike
Leave a Reply

