Something Fishy + Some Thoughts on Thankgiving

Dylan had the chance to write twice this week because of the Thanksgiving holiday, so I just saved both letters so I could include them both here together.  It was a fun bonus to get to hear from him twice this week!

Hey everyone!

I’m really short on time and do not have my camera with me, so this letter may be a bit unorthodox, scatterbrained, and devoid of images to help you picture how my week was.

Anyway, where to start? I dunno. This week was just the weirdest. With Elder Weaver as the new District Leader and the change of things in the zone, we had a lot of training and a lot of work to do to figure everything out. We were not able to meet with many investigators, tragically, but we did pick up two more: Doré and Chuck.

We were able to see a lot of progress with two people we’ve been teaching in particular: Jasmine finally committed to be baptized! She says she wants to sometime in January, but no date has been set yet. Then Cheri, the agoraphobic less-active member, was able to meet more members from the ward and be more comfortable with the idea of coming back to church. The member we introduced her to invited her and her sister over to dinner with him and his wife. Hopefully she’ll find the strength to make it to church soon!

Not a lot else comes to mind this week, though I did remember a weird story that happened two weeks ago that I meant to mention, but completely spaced:

Back before Elder Rowley returned home, when we were re-exchanging with Elder Tolman and Elder Apostolos, the weirdest thing happened. We got a knock on the door, and Elder Hibbert and Weaver were back to re-exchanged. Behind them, Elder Rowley (and his companion) crept up to the door with a bag of fish – raw, un-skinned fish (minus the head). He just stared at us for a minute in silence, and then HE STARTED THROWING THEM AT US. So yeah, one by one, Elder Rowley threw fish at us without saying anything. And then he just left. No explanation. No words. Nothing. Ask me why that happened. I have no idea why.

Anyway, that’s all I really got for this week. I have a short P-Day today and we are getting a full day off on Thursday for Thanksgiving, so I will probably send pictures then. Keep an eye out for them!

Love you all lots! Have a great week!
~Elder Pike

Hi everyone,

In our mission, we get a full-day P-Day (from 10 AM to 9 PM) on major holidays, but the Monday preceding is a mini-P-Day (from 10 AM to 1 PM, rather than to 6 PM). So, here I am to give a small thought and provide pictures since I didn’t have the time to on Monday

On this most wondrous Thanksgiving day, I hope all of you have had a most enjoyable time spent with family and a very full belly. Elder Weaver and I had two Thanksgiving dinners today! Ah, the kindness of members…

Anywho, I would be lying if I didn’t mention that I missed being with my own family on such a momentous occasion. That being said, I do want my parents and siblings to know that I love them more than words can express and truly missed them on this day and wish I could’ve been with them. It truly isn’t a special day without family.

So here are my thoughts: let’s be grateful. Grateful for all the blessings we have in this life. Grateful for all the blessings God has given us in this life. Whether it be family, friends, experiences, memories, possessions material and immaterial, gratitude is an incredibly important Christ-like attribute we should all seek. It takes our mind away from the negative and centers it on the positive. Paul spoke of gratitude, saying “Let the peace of God rule in your hearts…and be ye thankful” (Col.3:15).

So let’s be thankful and invite that peace into our lives. And consider this symbolic coincidence: How interesting is it that the holiday where we celebrate gratitude is followed by the holiday in which celebrate the birth of Jesus Christ, the Prince ofPeace? When we express gratitude, we invite Christ more fully into our lives, and with Him, His peace also enters.

On that note, I will leave you to the cold and blustery winters of wherever you find yourself. Although it may be cold, nothing can overcome the warmth of a grateful heart.

Wishing you a great evening, I love you all!
~Elder Pike

Here’s those promised photos from last week.

IMG_0140Welcome to beautiful Concord, California. Not even a hint of cold weather to be found… Don’t be deceived. It’s pretty chilly here.

IMG_0159Getting ready to baptize all the people with this stack of holy writ.IMG_0160

Leave a Reply

