A Guitar and a Heart (and some helmet hair)

Nephi will go (c) Melonheadz Illustrating LLC 2014 colored
Hello everyone!
 
My goodness, I had an interesting week this past week. Lemme start by saying that finding activities are certainly the most physically, mentally, and emotionally taxing activities that missionaries can do. That’s what we did all week: tracting, street contacting, the works.
 
And I’m exhausted.
Despite that, we did have some interesting experiences. Also, exchanges. I went on my first exchange this week. I led out the Clayton Valley area (as a new missionary) with my district leader, Elder Hibbert. It was quite a stressful experience to be in charge after only having been in the field for a few weeks.

 

IMG_0064

Beautiful Concord, California and some not-so-beautiful helmet hair.

Quick note about Elder Hibbert: He’s from Layton, Utah, and he originally served in the Phnom Penh, Cambodia mission, but went home sick for a transfer, then was called to this mission for his second year. He’s serving in the Cambodian branch out in Oakland now, speaking Khmer (pronounced “kim-eye”). Oh, also, he is 6’9″.
 
Anywho, I had the experience to learn quite a bit from Elder Hibbert on transfers. Learned some new methods for street contacting and tracting and how to be comfortable stopping people on the street and giving people a spiel at their doors. For awhile I had a hard time doing that, but it’s coming very naturally now. While on exchanges, we just did finding activities all day. Trying to contact less-actives, tracting, and street contacting. That was it. Also, I forgot to take pictures that day. Sorry everyone…

​Elder Weaver being uplifting to youth in the ward. …Sorry, that was a terrible joke.

Elder Weaver and I have few investigators, but we make do with who we have and are always searching for more. Dave and Jasmine are both progressing very well. Our other investigator, Joan, not so much. Dave actually works out with us in the morning some days, and, since he spent time in the army in Iraq, he pushes us. I feel great, though, when we are done working out!
 
Dave and his wife, Sarah, are some of the kindest people I have ever met. When they found out that I play the guitar and am really into music, Dave, one day, showed up with his old acoustic guitar he hasn’t played in years and gave it to me. He’s seriously the nicest guy. Elder Weaver and I are trying to find ways to pay them back for all they do for us (they also gave Elder Weaver a NICE bike a few months ago), but they won’t accept anything.
 
We’ll figure something out. I seriously cannot say enough about the kindness and generosity they show to us and to others.

The guitar

Okay, I’ll wrap it up now and let you all get on with your lives. My final thought is this: it is a tender mercy of the Lord that I have received a guitar this early in my mission. Back at home, playing the guitar was a major stress reliever for me, and after discouraging days like our days of finding (or, rather, not finding), it is wonderful to be able to sit down for ten or fifteen minutes and just be able to play a guitar. It makes me think of Nephi when he said:
 

“I will go and do the things which the Lord hath commanded, for I know that the Lord giveth no commandments unto the children of men, save he shall prepare a way for them to accomplish the thing which he commandeth them.”

My thoughts are turned to this because the Lord has provided for me a way to cope with the stresses of missionary life. He can also bless all of you in all you are doing. When we work towards our righteous desires and keep the commandments, God will bless us in all we do to be successful.Anyway, that’s all for this week. Hope everyone has a great week!

Love you lots!
~Elder Pike 

Leave a Reply

